Highway Hooligan

A forum for the customers, dealers and distributors of Highway Hooligan.

HomeHome  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 

HH & Chopper Dave

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Admin
Admin

PostSubject: HH & Chopper Dave   Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:30 am

Highway Hooligan is hooking up with Chopper Dave! Chopper Dave is going to be kind enough to cast some shit for us, so I'm stoked to say the least. Here is a little about Chopper Dave:

I hate talking about myself, but here goes.

I have been working on and around motorcycles since 1989. I took a job running the parts department of a shop in the San Fernando Valley , CA - Vic's Custom Cycles. I spent a year working and learning the parts department. It was then that my obsession with vintage Harley-Davidson started. Luckily, Vic had more old parts than anyone around and I got the crash course there. Lookiní back on it now, it was the best place for me to really learn.

In 1990 I moved to Arizona where I went to MMI, taking the '51 panhead that was my daily rider. For me it was basically a decent starting point to working on Harley-Davidsons. I had a big step up because I had been runniní the parts department of a shop. It left lots to be desired as you learn more real world motorcycle mechanics working on bikes in a shop than MMI can really teach you. This was also before the big explosion in the Harley-Davidson aftermarket that took place in the 90's. After graduating from MMI and after taking all the Harley classes I could, I went back to work at Vic's as a mechanic. I really couldn't see me fitting in with a dealership, not my deal.